mexican slaw

Mexican slaw

Like all people, I have a few things I just do not like eating: celery, black licorice, coconut.  I just am not a fan.  I would not describe myself as a picky eater, but those are just some of the things that I would like to avoid if possible.

But there are things that I can eat over and over, day after day: pizza, chocolate croissants, tacos.  Tonight, we ate some delicious pulled-pork tacos with this delicious Mexican slaw.   Now, don’t feel restricted.  It doesn’t just need to be eaten on tacos.  It can be eaten on a tortilla chip.  It can be eaten with a fork with nothing else.  It could be a delicious side dish.  All I know is that it is soo good.  I must share.  Well, I must share the recipe at least.

Mexican Slaw
Recipe from friend

Ingredients:
1/2 head of cabbage (shredded)
1-2 pickled jalapenos (finely diced)
2 medium tomatoes (diced)
1/2 large or 1 small onion (can be red or sweet onion)
3 limes worth of juice
1/4 cup of cilantro
4 tablespoons pickled jalapeno juice (or vinegar)
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1-5 cloves of garlic (this is to your taste)

1.  Combine all ingredients and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to 2 hours (overnight yields best meshing of flavors-the longer you let it sit, the more flavorful).

2.  Adjust seasonings to taste.

3.  Eat with tortilla chips.  Eat with tacos.  Eat with fork.  Yum!

I will throw a cautionary tale out there.  Be careful with the pickled jalapenos.  Those babies are still hot and spicy.  If you don’t really like spicy foods, take it down a notch.  If you like spicy foods, throw an extra one in for good measure.

One comment

Leave a Reply

