last time i felt really, truly lonely

Random picture of the Brussels airport – not taken by me

I’ve been trying to think of something more substantive to write on this blog.  Don’t get me wrong, I love posting silly pictures of my puppy and delicious recipes, but I also want to use this blog as an outlet for my writing.  I visited The Daily Post and found this writing prompt the other day: When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?  For most people who know me, they know I recently moved across a few states, and I am homesick frequently.  I couldn’t pinpoint one specific time that I felt really, truly lonely because I honestly and truly feel lonely a lot.

But, as I sit here at the Portland International Airport at 9:30pm, waiting for my red-eye flight to Florida, I feel really lonely.

It suddenly hits me, I feel this way every time I fly alone.  It is the thought of leaving loved ones behind to fly somewhere where you may not know too many familiar faces.  Now granted, most of the time I fly, it is usually to visit someone, but there is still this unsettling feeling of loneliness.  It is like airport limbo, the middle, the not yet.

It isn’t the fact that I am traveling alone either.  I am somewhat of an introvert, so I can handle my alone time like a big girl.  Does anyone else feel this way?  This feeling will disappear as soon as I see my dear friends in Florida, but until I hop off that plane and plant my feet on the ground, I will be in some state of airport loneliness.

Leave a Reply

