homesick

Here I am, back at my parent’s home for Thanksgiving week, and I feel more homesick than ever.  It has been about 1 year and 3 months since I moved to Washington, but I am still just as homesick as the day I pulled away from our home.  I don’t think I feel it as much since I am so busy with “life”, but I still feel the same pang of longing when I think about my HOME.

Yesterday, I went out to brunch with my really good friends, and it was just wonderful.  I’ve known most of these girls for many, many years.  It was wonderful to catch up on what is going on in everyone’s lives, but more importantly, it was just reassuring to pick up where we left off and act like we’ve never been apart.

We also (it was a eating day) went out to dinner with my parents and my brother.  As usual, it is this chaotic scramble of opinions as we decide what to order for the group.  Watching my mom get tipsy on half a beer, my brother winning the contest at being the slowest eater at the table, and my dad trying to sneak in a football game.  I felt happy and so sad at the same time.  If I lived here, we could do family dinners all the time.

I don’t want this post to be long winded, so here is what I want to say: don’t take your family and friends for granted.  I won’t get all preachy.  Just don’t take things for granted, especially the important people in your lives.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

