ginger molasses cookies

gingermolasses

Happy New Year!  I’m sure I am not the only one in the boat, but I cannot believe that it is already a new year.  It seems like the older I get, the faster time seems to fly.  It feels like just yesterday.  Meeting R.  Getting Lucy.  Moving to Washington.

Nope, all those things, years ago.  Yikes!  Can we just push pause for a few years?

Like the general population, I am coming up with some new year’s resolutions.  Instead of having really specific, unattainable resolutions, I am going to come up with resolutions that will help me be a better person for my family, friends, for myself and the world.  And I hope you will keep me accountable to them!

Here is my first one: live a healthier life.  That means mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually.  In all aspects of my life, I want to be healthy.

Alright, now are you ready for the most amazing molasses cookies?  I made a few batches for the holidays, but these cookies can be enjoyed all year round!  They are a little spicy but still sweet from the tiny morsels of crystallized ginger chips.  Grab a cookie or two with a hot cup of coffee or tea, and slow down for a while.

Ginger Molasses Cookies

Yield: 16-18 approximately 

Ingredients: 
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter (at room temperature)
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 cup unsulphured molasses
1 large egg (bring to room temperature)
1/3 to 1/2 cup of ginger chips
Granulated Sugar for coating

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degree F.  Grease or line baking sheets with parchment paper (or a handy dandy silicon baking mat).

2.  Sift and whisk dry ingredients together and set aside.

3.  Cream butter and brown sugar together until it is light and fluffy.

4.  Add the egg and molasses and mix until well blended.

5.  Add dry ingredients until incorporated.

6.  Mix in the ginger chips.

7.  Roll a 2″ dough ball in your hand, then roll in granulated sugar.

8.  Place approximately 2″ apart on the baking sheet.  Slightly flatten each ball with the palm of your hand.

9.  Refrigerate the sheets for about 15 minutes, then bake on the middle rack for 8-10 minutes.  Don’t overbake!  They will set and be chewy.

10.  Let the cookies cool on the sheet for a little bit before transferring to a cooling rack.

If you are like me and want to speed up the process, roll the balls of dough and refrigerate on a regular plate for 15 minutes.  Then, roll in sugar, flatten and put straight into the oven to bake.

P.S. I would like to thank my friend T for giving me the nudge to keep blogging!  Sorry for the lack of posts.  Hopefully, with the rush of the holidays over, I can get back to writing!  Thanks T!

Leave a Reply

