pecan pie

photo (2)

I know that it has only been like… 22 days since the new year resolutions started rolling out for people, so I do apologize for this amazing pecan pie recipe below.  But I have been contemplating sharing this recipe since the minute I took my first bite, so I knew that I had to share it for the sheer reasoning of just getting it off my mind (oh and it is crazy good).  I must admit, I was a pecan pie virgin, but no longer and good riddance.

Speaking of new year resolutions, I have made none except the one: live a healthier life.

And as I sit on my couch picking at my face and biting my nails, maybe I should resolve to handle stress in a non-abusive way.  Maybe that just falls under live a healthier life.  Another one that falls under that category, don’t eat EIGHT scones in one sitting.  Sheesh!  Hey, at least I rolled out my yoga mat from retirement!  Baby steps.

Pecan Pie
Yield: 1 pie
Adapted from The Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook

Crust Ingredients:
1-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
3 tablespoons ice water

Directions for Crust:
1.  Preheat oven to 375.

2.  In a large bowl, add the flour and shortening.  Use a pastry blender to cut the shortening in until the pieces are small and pea-size.

3.  Add one tablespoon of ice water at a time and toss the mixture with a fork until the dough is moistened.

4.  Form the dough into a ball.  Wrap in plastic and place in the refrigerator.

Filling Ingredients:
1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
3 large eggs, brought to room temperature
1 cup light corn syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 cups chopped pecans

Directions for Filling:
1.  Cream the butter and sugar.

2.  Add each ingredient in order, minus the pecans, one at a time.  Beat all ingredients in well after addition.

3.  Stir in roughly half of the pecans into the filling.

Directions for Assembly:
1.  Remove pie crust from the fridge and roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface.  The dough should fit a 9-inch pie dish.

2.  Fold the edges of the crust under and crimp (I’m not so good at this part yet).

3.  Pour the filling into the crust and then sprinkle with the remaining pecans over the top.

4.  Bake 50-60 minutes until the filling is almost set (give it a slight jiggle).

5.  Cool the pie for 2 hours before cutting into it.

I ended up freezing it.  Covered the entire thing in plastic wrap and then aluminum foil.  Still tasted heavenly!  Don’t forget to top it with a tasty dollop of whipped cream.

Also, bring to a large gathering where other people will share in the deliciousness of the pie.  Or hoard it to yourself and eat a gigantic piece every night of the weekend for dessert dinner.  No judgements from me.

Leave a Reply

