pumpkin cake doughnuts

IMG_1560

These little doughnuts, I can’t even begin to explain how I came about making them.  Well actually, I could, but I’ll spare you the whole story.  It’s a story about corruption and lose.  This all means, that I entered a doughnut contest at work and lost and was a sore loser about it.  But that doesn’t mean they weren’t good.  I’ve never won much in my life in terms of contests or drawings, not even BINGO in Spanish class, so I’ve coped and made peace with it.  I’m super good at marketing this blog post: try my losing doughnuts!

I appreciate almost any doughnut I meet, but I would like to tell you of a doughnut that is very close to my heart.  The first time I flew out to Washington to visit R’s family, he took me to a bakery in a town called Poulsbo.  Downtown Poulsbo has a lot of charm.  R knew that I am a sucker for all sorts of baked goods, took me to Sluy’s Bakery.  Oh.  My.  Goodness.  I met the love of my (doughnut) life there, the apple fritter.  Sure, I’ve had apple fritters before, but this is no ordinary apple fritter.  It had good sized chunks of apples that were the right amount of soft and crunchy.  It was as big as my hand.  It was fried to perfection with it being crispy on the outside and soft and pillowy on the inside.  You could taste the oil but not in a greasy, gross way.  And it had just the right amount of glaze.  In the eternal words of Homer Simpson, “mmm-mmm, do-nuts”.  If you ever make it to Washington and especially Poulsbo, you must stop at Sluy’s.

Moving on to my pumpkin cake doughnuts.  These are good in their own right.  The pumpkin and the cinnamon sugar are best friends in this recipe!  I used a recipe from the King Arthur Flour website with some modifications based on the fact that I didn’t have a doughnut pan.

Pumpkin Cake Doughnuts
Yield:  With my mini muffin pan, ~48 doughnut “muffin” holes
Adapted from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients:
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3 large eggs
1-1/2 cups granulated sugar
1-1/2 cups pumpkin purée (canned pumpkin)
1-1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice, or 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon plus heaping 1/4 teaspoon each ground nutmeg and ground ginger
1-1/2 teaspoons salt
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1-3/4 cups + 2 tablespoons All Purpose flour
1/4 cup unsalted butter

Cinnamon Sugar:
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon

Directions:
1.  Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease the mini muffin pan.

2.  Beat together the oil, eggs, sugar, pumpkin, spices, salt, and baking powder until smooth.

3.  Add the flour, stirring just until smooth.

4.  Fill the wells of the muffin tin a little over 3/4 full if you want them to look more like doughnut holes.

5.  Bake the doughnuts for 8 to 10 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center of one comes out clean.

6.  Remove the doughnuts from the oven, and after about 5 minutes, loosen their edges, and transfer them to a rack to cool.

7.  When the doughnuts are cool, melted the butter and use a pastry brush to lightly coat and then roll in cinnamon sugar.

8.  Wrap airtight; store at room temperature for several days.

They are really soft and stay that way as long as they are kept in an airtight container so don’t forget that!  Also, they are good with a mug of coffee.  They are good with a cup of milk.  They are good eaten in public.  They are also very good when alone in the kitchen without judging eyes, and don’t forget to lick the cinnamon sugar off your fingers.

If you have cinnamon sugar left over, go and make some slices of cinnamon sugar toast.  Yum!  I cannot say whether or not this happened with my leftovers.

Leave a Reply

