blood orange margaritas

photo (1)

Can it be summer yet?  And by that, I mean margarita season?  And by margarita season, I mean, when is it going to be warm?  My second winter in Washington, and I am about to lose my mind.  Some would say I am being greedy since we had a beautiful, sunny, 60 degree day this past weekend.  But I want more!  Also, I would like more that don’t involve seasonal allergies.  I am a sniffling mess strung out on allergy meds already.

During the warmer months, margaritas are a must have around our house.  Usually, R is the connoisseur of margaritas, so I was really excited to find this recipe on Smitten Kitchen.  I immediately went down to the store to snatch up some blood oranges.  I have always been fascinated by the fruit, but I haven’t had a chance to really use them in anything.

I didn’t have limes on hand because I was too excited about making this drink that I forgot to buy them along with the blood oranges.  And I didn’t have silver tequila.  So I used what I had on hand, and it was still pretty dang amazing!  We drank it on a very rainy day, but they added a nice splash of color to the evening.  I cannot get over the color of the margarita.  The pictures do not do it justice.

photo (2)

Blood Orange Margaritas
Yield:  2 “responsible” sized drinks
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients:
1/2 cup blood orange juice
2 tablespoons lemon juice
3 tablespoons cointreau
7 tablespoons tequila

Directions:
1.  Mix altogether.
2.  Divide among two glasses and add ice.
3.  Drink!

I cannot wait for more margaritas and a few sunny days in a row!  Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

